Skip to content

What’s in the Blender?

February 4, 2014

IMG_8226

Hello Sunshine!

It is a scorcher here in Mysore… and the sun is beaming, reason for which the fruits and vegetables are so juicy as well as luscious. What astounds me the most, is that hardly no salt or spices are required to make a tasty meal, just fling in the pan a couple of veggies, heat and stir them up…. there you go, a yummy dish! So healthier.

Today I have committed to getting back to what is my usual diet. Here, everything is so unalike what I have back home, you can easily fall in the trap of over eating or being tempted by trying everything. Food is dirt cheap so one would develop the bad habit of ordering half a dozen of dishes just to satisfy their taste buds. I know, far from Aparigraha.

I feel very greedy as well as I sweat buckets during my morning practice. That’s it! Enough is enough. Smoothies only in the morning, main meal at lunch and a light bite before seven in the evening. I know Jeanine, I hadn’t until this precise moment opened your mail on the five contemplations from Thich Nath Hanh…. it is now done as well as I am done with my bad habit!

Here is what I contented myself with today for breakfast and felt very satisfied:

  • Fresh coconut meat and water (you can use shredded coconut and carton water)
  • Half a dozen of strawberries, yes they are in season here
  • Half an avocado
  • A quarter of a pineapple
  • 2 dates, these are so sweet

To me, strawberries, pineapple and coconut is a perfect tropical blend. The avocado will give the creamy touch without the bad fats, it is also known to help weight loss. The coconut is a great source of fibre, vitamins, mineral, it’s water is an important source of potassium and electrolytes. Strawberries alike all berries are packed with antioxidants just to name one of its health benefits and did you know that pineapple isn’t just loaded with vitamin c but is a anti-inflammatory because it contains bromelain? And dates… iron, fibre, potassium as well as adds the sweetness you need avoiding processed sugar.

Get cracking!

XO

JO

From → Musings, Recipes

One Comment
  1. I MISS YOU my beautiful dada!! mouthwatering at midnight… bisous!!

Leave a comment