Skip to content

PANCAKES!!!!!

November 9, 2014

IMG_9241

It’s Sunday, autumn and I am feeling lazy. I swung my practice nearer to noon than morning, had chocolate just after squeezing a lemon……. Oh BOY! I am a total chocolate junkie right now. I’ve been having chocolate before practice for the last couple of weeks, searching for a kick to uplift me throughout it.

In this season the body slows down just as nature goes into some kind of sleep. Trees retract their sap and all nature turns into an explosion of orange, red, rusty colours. I love the sight of it, a little less the chestnuts on the ground as I swish through parks with my bike….

As cold weather arrives, do you also feel like comfort food and sleep? What are you craving for? Rich soups and fried potatoes, chestnuts and pumpkins have been on my menu a lot. I tried making pumpkin soup with apples and safran instead of the classical coconut cream, curry… trust me, the alternative was so good!

Because today is quite chilly, I felt so happy to have taken the decision to not leave the house. Played some of my favourite records, listened to a dozen to times to “Entendre la forêt qui pousse” (hearing the forest grow, very seasonal) from Chapelier le fou.  And, after my initial sugar fix, fruits followed a deep core floor practice then I suddenly got so excited at the idea of making my favourite pancakes, simple joys of cooking really uplift my mood.

The recipe I enjoy comes from the Post Punk kitchen blog, Isa is such an inspiration for turning the traditional unhealthy soul food into more ethical and wholesome dishes. These puffy pillow pancake’s will satisfy any serious comfort craving for the authentic american crepe!

I used egg replacer instead of the ground flax seeds and only incorporated one spoon of sugar since I pour more than enough maple syrup of them, also not being a vanilla fan, skipped that. Enjoy!

IMG_9247

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt

1 cup almond milk (or soy milk)
2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon ground flax seeds
1/2 cup water
3 tablespoons canola oil
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Peace, love and sugar*

JO

From → Food, Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for this post Jo, I have been feeling so depleted of energy this past week and my practice has slowed right down to nourish my body, it feels so nice to reduce the pace, turn slowly inwards and then eat (healthy) comfort food afterwards; rock on winter hibernation!

  2. Thanks Juliette! And yeah, hibernation is a soft, enjoyable option….. as long as we stock our pantries! XO

Leave a Reply

